Happy Birthday, NAVY!

Today marks the 236th birthday of the U.S. Navy.  Challenges abound for our sea service, but as has been true throughout the history of nations, being the dominant sea power is the doorway to the path of being the dominant nation that the United States has become.  Throughout the last two-plus centuries, the Navy has time and again defended our nation from powerful enemy empires and treacherous rogue states.  The history of the Navy is a who’s who of American heroes and icons, from John Paul Jones to Admiral Nimitz.  Despite the absence of a traditional conventional war fought at sea between nations in recent decades, the Navy still produces sailors that are writing America’s history.  Remember, it wasn’t the Army, Marine Corps, or Air Force that went after and killed Osama bin Laden; it was Sailors that got the job done.

The happiest, most rewarding years of my life were spent in the Navy, and I will always be thankful for the time I was able to serve in our maritime service.  I encourage you to find some history on the Navy today, and learn some of the remarkable stories of courage, duty, and adventure that has been the hallmark of the 236 years of the U.S. Navy.  You will be glad you did.

About El Scotto

I'm a 30 year old guy, and a huge sports fan. Spent the bulk of my life bouncing around the various Armed Forces. Have a love of history, and can't get politics out of my life, though more often than not it just drives me to screaming.
This entry was posted in America, History, Military and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday, NAVY!

  1. Susan A. says:

    I’m not sure what to say here. I don’t even remember to celebrate the Army’s birthday, after eleven years of service, so worrying about the Navy’s is beyond me. Of course, I’m doing good to remember my father’s birthday (which I forgot until five days after the date last year). You make me feel bad for my lack of ability to remember anyone’s b-day, other than me and my husband’s, lol.

    • El Scotto says:

      Oh, Susan….this totally didn’t go the way it should have. Lol. No need to get all bummed out now. I’m a history guy,.so any chance I can make an excuse to prod people into checking some history out,.especially when it’s related top my favorite uniformed service, I’m all over it!

Leave a Reply

