That Didn’t Take Long; Government to Put Americans on ‘Kill List’

I did a post tuesday on my discomfort and alarm at the Obama administration setting the precedent of killing an American citizen, terrorist Anwar al-Alawki, without any attempt at due process. Today we get this story. As expected, it’s all bad.

The report states that ‘mid-level’ government officials will (and have) list Americans for targeting. The list is then forwarded to the White House. Reuters reports this is the process by which Anwar al-Awlaki was killed.

Oh, I can’t see how this could POSSIBLY go wrong! What a great idea! Instead of abiding by the law, or some of the suggestions we layed out in the previous post, we are just going to have the President make a hit list! Brilliant!

The report also points out other troubling aspects (as if we needed more): there is no legislative authorization or approval of any kind (duh!), no public record of the process or proceedings, or any internal process standard. Translated, the Administration, without authority to do so, meets in secret, without any evidence of the meeting, to make hit lists of Americans as they see fit that day.

I cannot imagine, in a sane world, this being allowed to stand by the courts. My goodness, if the same waterboarding techniques used on our own service members in SERE Schools are torture by court definitions, then surely the arbitrary killing of American citizens by the chief executive is outside the bounds of the Constitution. Right? Right?!

Does there need to be a process by which we have a practical way of dealing with a terrorist similar to the al-Awlaki situation? You betcha. However, allow me to be the first to say that this isn’t it. I’m shocked and alarmed that nobody in the Administration has raised a series of red flags during the development of this non-procedure. If this doesn’t make you sit up and take note, I’m not sure anything will.

I’m praying this does not stand. This may be the most significant step our government has taken towards tyranny in our history. Whatever the positive intentions were, the end result is leaving in place a system that can empower the government to kill whomever they want, whenever they want.

Keep an eye on this, folks. Get ahold of your representatives. I implore you to do SOMETHING.

About El Scotto

I'm a 30 year old guy, and a huge sports fan. Spent the bulk of my life bouncing around the various Armed Forces. Have a love of history, and can't get politics out of my life, though more often than not it just drives me to screaming.
This entry was posted in America, Government Gone Bad, Terrorism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That Didn’t Take Long; Government to Put Americans on ‘Kill List’

  1. Susan A. says:

    The plot thickens! This just goes to show you were headed in the right direction with your last post. I’m greatly disturbed by the government doing anything of this nature. Someone needs to bring it to the supreme court’s attention. The ones that could do it, according to my last govt. class, would be the families of those executed. You can only bring something to trial if you can prove harm to yourself. Potential harm doesn’t count which is why it has to be the families. The other way, like you said, is through writing/calling congressmen. Contacting them would be good, though I’m not sure how effective it will be. Have you seen any of them speaking out on this? I need to research it further myself. Nothing good can come from such an abuse of power.

  2. El Scotto says:

    I have to say, Susan, that I am extremely saddened today. I only saw this story in two places today, a link of the Drudge Report, and a brief snippet on FoxNews where Bill O’Reilly and Megyn Kelly sat and mocked anyone that would be concerned by this.

    The only elected official I have seen speak on this is Rep. Ron Paul, who has been beating the drum on this since al-Awlaki’s killing. Since he is dismissed and hated by both parties, I highly doubt anyone is going to raise any kind of alarm on his behalf.

    Having this structure in place to operate in this fashion, for the stated aims, is just mind-boggling to me in the extreme. This is America, or so I thought. If this doesn’t even raise an eyebrow from anyone, either inside or outside of Washington, then I guess we are farther gone than even I believed. I’m at a loss here….

    • Susan A. says:

      You know, it isn’t that I have a problem with the government assasinating terrorists, whether they are American or not. I’m just worried where such broad powers could lead. You are right that it could allow for things we don’t want. At this point no one sees that, though, because the first target was an evil person that deserved to die. That is how it always starts- use an acceptable target that the public will not question.

      • El Scotto says:

        I’m with you on everything you just said. I’m quite happy that Anwar al-Awlaki met his end, and terrorists, foreign or not, do need to be neutralized by any means necessary, as you said. But wow, an unsanctioned secret group with no oversight that meets for the express purpose to target Americans (and others) for death is, I thought, that line that we just don’t cross.

      • Susan A. says:

        Just look at General Patton. Apparently we have done it before to far better people.

      • El Scotto says:

        Lol! I didn’t know anyone outside of my area was aware of the speculation over General Patton’s ‘ accident’. The Patton Museum is here at Fort Knox where I work, and the car he was killed in is here. I’m not naive enough to think that our government hasn’t murdered lots of people over the years, but I am concerned that the masses are seemingly accepting it now.

Leave a Reply

